top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMackenzie Alderson

One of my many Inspirations!

Updated: Apr 9, 2020

I have so much appreciation for the design of this architectural masterpiece. The Sagrada Familia is a Roman Catholic Church, found in the beautiful city of Barcelona. The architect behind the wonderful madness of the cathedral was the famous Antoni Gaudi, who began to lay the foundations of the church in 1882 (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization [UNSECO]. n.d) and still to this day it is not yet complete.


I always find travelling so inspiring, and I find that even if I don’t intend to design from something I have seen on my travels. From absorbing corners of the world these images and ideas are locked in the back of my mind and come out in my designs unconsciously.

I find it so inspiring that many parts of the world have been in the making for thousands of years, and the history and design behind them is what has shaped the cities we know today.

Gaudi’s thought process of trying to create something so modern for its time is what makes the Sagrada Familia such an inspiring design for me. As an aspiring designer, I want to do the same. Looking into the future, thinking out of the box and being ahead of time. Gaudi had similar views when he challenged the original design of the church centuries ago with his revolutionary designs that were game-changing.


The outside of the Sagrada Familia is just the beginning of the stunning designs.






'Each side of the church has been designed to tell 3 different stories. Birth, Passion and Bliss. These link back to Gaudi’s intense devotion to his religious beliefs.' (Atlas Obscura Community. 2020) Which I think is so alluring, because throughout the design course so far, I have learnt from my peers, that everyone brings their own personal beliefs and values into their designs whether you intend to or not, and the Sagrada Familia is an example of how Gaudi has displayed his values to the world.


However, for me, the most inspiring part of the entire church is the stain glass windows and the ceiling. The ceiling is so intricate and has been thought out so carefully. The natural light shines through all the windows, but the different angles and colours of the glass create this warm atmosphere. Feeling an atmosphere from the design was so inspiring. Leaving me thinking about how I could create designs that are moving and striking. I found after standing in the building long enough I had a sore neck from just examining the busyness of the ceiling, every tiny piece of glass had a purpose in creating the overall design.

I often think about how the design could be so busy, yet so seamless. Which really inspires my designs. Because often I find myself adding so many elements that cause crashes. I am really inspired to keep practising my design skills and hopefully be able to reach this beautiful medium where chaos and busyness harmonises with beauty.






All Photos are my own - (Alderson. M)


Atlas Obscura Community. (2020) Sagrada Familia Barcelon, Spain https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/sagrada-familia

UNESCO.(n.d.) History of the Basilica https://sagradafamilia.org/en/history-of-the-temple






25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page