top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMackenzie Alderson

Reflection Time!

Updated: Apr 9, 2020



Reflecting is such an important and crucial thing to do. I think that it is so important to look back on what you have done so that you can learn what went well, and what you struggled with. Isn’t this what we are taught our entire life. We don’t touch a hot element twice! We learn from our mistakes. In saying that though I still find Reflecting difficult because I work so hard to reach that final product and always like to not keep time on my side, that once the project is complete I like to never think of it again. However, with beginning my design degree I want to make a conscious effort in order to remind myself of what went well, and what I possibly could have done better so that I leave University not only with the skills to be a great designer but with the skill to reflect on what I’ve learnt so that I can improve.


When I reflect on Assignment 1 of Design 100, my first ever University hand in, I have learnt a lot of things, that right from this moment will help me to grow as a designer and shape me as a person! I have gripped the task of making a website with 2 hands, learning that from now on when I visit an online store website, I will have a greater appreciation for every page that each button connects too. I have also learnt more about myself throughout this process when making the website you really have to make it so personal and let the readers know who you are, or they are never going to trust you! It’s difficult to really put yourself out there through a website and ensure that when someone visits your site they know exactly who you are. This process has taught me a lot about myself. Asking myself the big questions.. Why do I design? What do I like designing? Who am I as a designer? To ensure that anyone who comes to my website knows the answers that I don’t even know about myself!


One thing I have learnt from this though about myself as a designer is that my thoughts don’t just come from anywhere, they come from places I have been, things that I have seen, and every single one of my life experiences. I have more appreciation now for my ideas and why everyone thinks so differently. Which I think is so cool!


I want to keep focusing on learning as many skills as I possibly can and broadening my horizons because you never know what door you may open, I am hoping that if I try and learn as many different skills and tools as I possibly can, I will one day trip and fall into something that I know is just right for me! I have no idea what the future holds for me as a designer, but I know it will be something special!




26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page