top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMackenzie Alderson

Poster Three Process - Perfection

Theme: storyboard or app wireframe

Guidelines: Create a storyboard/wireframe containing 12 frames and showing at least 3 key moments (for example, set the scene, develop the plot, the reveal)

Technique: Photoshop (drawing on iPad)



Living the Good life

Attitude, Gratitude, Love-

Living in the now

- Cynthia Sageleaf (Sageleaf.C. 01/22/2018)

The process behind my storyboard, came from my original idea for my movie poster when trying to create the movie poster I had so many ideas and had tried to develop them. I had thought about characters and a storyline, so when the task was set to be a storyboard I was set on focusing on the theme of perfection.


My storyboard is about the idea of being too perfect and always striving to conform and be just as good or better than the person next to you. However, I wanted to highlight that sometimes being too perfect can have its flaws. I have learnt that if you are always wanting to be perfect, then you are setting yourself up for failure. It shouldn't matter how different you are to the person next to you, what you wear and how you go about your day to day life. You should enjoy life, have bright colours, do things crazy and loosen up, because being a perfectionist may drive you crazy. This idea of being too perfected is often highlighted in society. My main inspiration was a specific episode in the tv series Black Mirror, (season 3 episode 1). The character Lacie strives to live a perfect life, however, you'd never be able to guess what happens when she does take it too far. I also had ideas in my mind from the Stepford wives. I had this idea of olden days, very old fashioned housewives wanting to be immaculate.


That's where the first image originated from. The lady's in 60's style dresses, all the same with a perfect apron on. Showing that the ladies follow the trends and are dated in their ways, doing all the cooking and the cleaning. I also go inspiration for women art illustrations on Pinterest, that are created using a thick, hard brush and using block colours. As I am still learning about all the different skills to create a poster, and I am not the best drawer I used cartoon images as my inspirations and trying to draw sketches off cartoon images, this definitely helped in giving me guidance on the shapes and images to draw.


I chose the blue, white and red dresses on the women to make a reference to America. There is a stereotype surrounding the southern states, that they live their life set in more old fashioned ways, which also was the inspiration behind the poster. This then lead me to my second image of the house. I chose to draw a house that felt large, and wealthy. Again linking to the idea of the American Dream, perfect house, perfect life vibe. My third image of the mirror reflecting the vanity with the perfect makeup was to touch on the idea of trying to make yourself perfect. It came from the idea that I think people try to show that they are perfect on the outside when really they aren't on the inside and makeup covers up everything including these imperfections. The 4th image was because I wanted to show the obsession with being perfect and the idea of the women doing the house chores. When I think perfection I instantly think of people who have all their drawers of clothes folded and colour coded.

I chose for my first row of these images to have a white background, because of the idea of cleanliness that surrounds white. It's simple and boring. I chose to repeat each of the 4 images in order to create emphasise. Except I wanted each row to tell the story, of the trying to be too perfect, then what happens when the perfection falls out of your control and then the life after letting go. Again I chose the blue, white and red backgrounds because blue and red are complementary colours, as well as to link back to America again, and the history behind those southern states. I also chose the colour red for the background in the middle section because it is a symbol of anger, whereas the blue colour is more calming.


I wanted to show that after the anger that perfection had caused the blonde women, she was able to teach others about worrying less and living more in the moment. Living the good life, and being grateful for what you have no matter what things go wrong, which is why I chose to show the changes over time by using the same images repeatedly.



This is my rough sketch of my storyboard. Originally instead of the mirror I was going to a do a family photo, but felt that the mirror with makeup was more of a symbol of striving to be perfect and that the house emphasised the idea of the American Dream.



This is my final storyboard design

Perfection






19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page