top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMackenzie Alderson

Tinkering on Tinkercad!

Tinkercad is an easy to use, 3D modelling program that runs in your web browser, which makes it available to everyone! Tinkercad training was something that I had never done before online. Soldering in the class was a cool new skill for me to learn, however, Tinkercad was a whole different playing field. Tinkercad was important for me to be able to learn more about the circuit that was going to bring my lamp to life, without having to actually make it in the FABLAB.

This is an image of the basic circuit we made in the class in soldering training, made on Tinkercad...

However, the training quickly took a turn and we went from creating very basic circuits to creating circuits that do much more than just turn on an LED.

In the Tinkercad training, I learnt about an Arduino board and the crazy functions and new element that it can bring to my design. Creating an Arduino board on Tinkercad allowed me to try making an Arduino board with a little bit coding that meant that the LED turned on with a sensor. I struggled to wrap my head around programming the Arduino because telling it exactly what to do and how to do it, proved to be difficult because if you forgot one step the LED would display what you wanted it to when you wanted it to. This is my Arduino board and coding that I made by following along in the training.


Throughout the training, I enjoyed learning more about Tinkercad because it may be a tool that comes in handy in the future. I definitely know that because the software is easy to use I will try and incorporate it, into my specification visualisation for my assignment 2 in Des 100.

8 views0 comments
bottom of page